Skip to Content

.CA Members Elect New Board Members

Ottawa, September 27, 2012 – The Canadian Internet Registration Authority (CIRA) is pleased to announce the results of its 2012 Board of Directors election. CIRA’s Election Returning Officer, Richard Vickers, tabulated votes from 3508 ballots cast by .CA Members.

This year, .CA Members voted to elect three seats from the final Nomination Committee Slate that will each hold three-year terms. From the Members' slate, two Candidates were elected, with one seat that will hold a three-year term and the replacement seat will hold a one-year term.

The following five newly elected individuals will take office immediately:

Nomination Committee Slate
Bill Sandiford, 338 votes
William Gibson, 301 votes
Carole Mackaay, 266 votes

Members' Slate
Michael Geist, 423 votes
Kevin McArthur, 186 votes *one-year term

A list of all the election Candidates and their vote count is available at

CIRA wishes to thank departing Directors Jim Grey, John King, Barry Shell and Victoria Withers for their time and efforts dedicated to CIRA.

The full 2012-2013 CIRA Board of Directors include:
Paul Andersen
Kerry Brown
John Demco (ex-officio)
Heather Dryden (ex-officio)
Andrew Escobar
Michael Geist
William Gibson
Byron Holland (ex-officio)
Rowena Liang
Louise Macdonald
Carole Mackaay
Kevin McArthur
Susan Mehinagic
Bill Sandiford
Bill St. Arnaud

CIRA thanks all Candidates who participated in this year’s election and to the many Members who took time to vote and in turn, help shape the future of our Internet.

Information about CIRA’s Board of Directors Election is available at


About CIRA
The Canadian Internet Registration Authority is the Member-driven organization that manages Canada’s .CA domain name registry, develops and implements policies that support Canada’s Internet community, and represents the .CA registry internationally.

For additional information, please contact:

Tanya O’Callaghan
Communications Manager
(613) 237-5335 ext. 262