2016/05/11 Minutes

Minutes of the Meeting of the CIRA Board of Directors held via teleconference Ottawa on May 11, 2016 at 12:00 p.m. ET

Directors attending: Kerry Brown, Andrew Escobar, Louise Macdonald, Kevin McArthur, Helen McDonald, Susan Mehinagic, Bill Sandiford, Rob Villeneuve, Faye West

Advisors:  John Demco, Byron Holland

Corporate Secretary: Paul Havey

Regrets: Michael Geist, Rowena Liang, Marita Moll, Adam Scott

Recording Secretary: Lynn Gravel

1. Approval of Agenda

It was resolved that the agenda for the meeting be adopted as presented.

(Moved: B. Sandiford, seconded: L. Macdonald)

2. Composition of the Nomination Committee

The Governance Committee held a meeting on May 3, 2016 to review the list of the 40 applications received and discuss the various industry experience, not-for-profit or public sector work experience and governance experience.

On the recommendation of the Governance Committee it was therefore resolved that the Board of Directors appoint the following people to the Nomination Committee for a term of two (2) years, starting May 12, 2016: Paul Andersen, Maria Capozzi, Tim Denton, Ken Lamoureux, Catherine Middleton, and Christian Tacit.

(Moved: F. West, seconded: H. McDonald, unanimously carried)

3. Other Business

There was no other business to discuss.

4. Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Board will be held on June 16 and 17, 2016 in Ottawa.

5. In-Camera Session

It was moved by B. Sandiford and seconded by A. Escobar that the Board of Directors continues the meeting to an in-camera session.

6. Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was concluded at 1:35 p.m.