Skip to main content

People say that cats are the internet's favourite animal, but today, August 26th, is International Dog Day. Any good dog person out there knows there's plenty of dog cuteness online - maybe you follow more dogs than humans on Instagram or subscribe to all of the dog-related subreddits including r/TongueOutHounds and r/dogbridges.

Needless to say, when I found out that August 26th was such a special day, I jumped at the opportunity to see what types of dog-related websites are out there. I’ve fetched some great Canadian websites (notice the .CA!) that are doing things like bringing together communities of dog lovers online, highlighting services such as pet photography, and promoting dog-themed events. Lo and behold, here are my findings from my very important dog research!


Dog blogs and websites

Daily Dogs (dailydogs.ca)

This is a Canadian Dog Blog that shares dog product reviews and more.

"Quality dog products and quality dogs, that's what Daily Dogs is all about."

Be sure to check out their Dog of the Week page featuring photos of dogs across Canada!

The Dog Network (thedognetwork.ca)

This is a community-based website designed by dog owners for dog owners.

After searching the web trying to find new places to exercise their German Shepherd Avy, Stacey and Matt wanted to create a single resource where dog owners could go to find off-leash dog parks in the Greater Vancouver Area.

Talent Hounds (talenthounds.ca)

What started as a TV series exploring the changing roles of dogs and how they enrich our lives has grown into an online community for dog lovers.

Honourable mentions

Some other good Canadian dog content to check out:


Canadian dog events

Woofstock (woofstock.ca)

This is North America’s largest festival for dogs. It takes place every May at Woodbine Park in Toronto.


Wienerfest (wienerfest.ca)

This event took place on July 22, 2019, celebrating all things Daschund in Woodstock (no, not Woofstock!), Ontario! This event included a costume contest, yogurt licking, and “Momma said Daddy was a Dachshund” race for honourary doxies.


Dog services

Furever Reflections (fureverreflections.ca)

These pet and family photographers in Calgary understand that pets are family too. Check out their gallery!

Tripawd Phodawgrafur (tripawdphodawgrafur.ca)

This downtown Toronto dog photographer with a great name is eager to do a professional photo shoot for your su’paw’star pet!

Tails and Trails (tailsandtrailsnl.ca)

Founded by avid dog lover Jillian Blackmore (Hurd), Tails and Trails strives to provide reliable and safe services at affordable rates in various neighbourhoods in Newfoundland.

Good Doggy! (gooddoggy.ca)

Located in Peterborough and also servicing clients in Clarington and Durham Region, certified professional dog trainer Nadine Francis “empowers one dog owner at a time – with knowledge, practice & patience”.


Dog treats made in Canada

Earth Paws (earthpaws.ca)

This proudly Canadian social enterprise based in Vancouver makes treats with minimal and human grade ingredients.  

Northern Biscuit (northernbiscuit.ca)

They’ve been making limited and natural ingredient snacks for dogs since 1992.


There you have it! If you find any great dog websites with a .CA domain, I would love to hear about them! Or, if you'd like to start your own dog blog, dog-walking service or photography website, try searching to see what names are available below.