Community Investment Committee

In 2013, the CIRA Board of Directors resolved to establish a committee comprised of Board members and community stakeholders to make decisions about strategic investments that encourage community projects that will enhance the Internet for Canadians.

The Community Investment Committee is a standing committee of the CIRA Board of Directors established to assist the Board in the oversight, development, management and administration of CIRA's Community Investment Program.

Appointed by the CIRA Board of Directors and recommended by CIRA’s Governance Committee, the Community Investment Committee has eleven members, of which four are CIRA Board members and the other members are independent of the Board and of each other.

The Community Investment Committee is comprised of the following individuals:

Brian Beaton
Faculty of Education
University Of New Brunswick

Kerry Brown
Owner and Manager
KDB Systems

Iris Almeida-Côté B.A., M.A., LL.M.

Paul Andersen, P. Eng
EGATE Communications Inc.

Benoît Dupont
Scientific Director
Smart Cybersecurity Network (SERENE-RISC)
Université de Montréal

Jill Kowalchuk
National Research and Education Network (NREN) Coordination Manager
CIRA Board Director

Louise Macdonald
Independent Consultant
CIRA Board Director

Marita Moll
Researcher and freelance writer 
CIRA Board Director

Alyssa Moore
Policy & Strategy Analyst

Elliot Noss
Tucows Inc.

Bill Sandiford
CIRA Board Director